mushroom barley soup

March 27, 2009 at 5:14 pm Leave a comment

Okay, it has officially been way too long since my last post! Like I stated previously, I have been unable to upload photos from my camera due to the chaos of moving. It’s been two months since we moved, and I must admit, we still haven’t finished unpacking. I’m sure that cord will turn up eventually, but I was jonesing to update, so my boyfriend bought a cord on Ebay for cheap! It never hurts to have two of something.

The first meal I made in the new kitchen was a mushroom barley soup. The recipe came from a cookbook I got from my boyfriend’s grandmother for Christmas – Simply Soup. It has some great sounding recipes and beautiful photography. It also has recipes for making your own vegetable, fish, chicken, and beef stock… which I’m definitely going to try out sometime soon.

This was also the first recipe I’ve made out of this cookbook. I had been craving mushrooms, so I was excited to try this one. Not to mention, I hadn’t yet had barley, but it sounded like the perfect recipe to try it in. My verdict? Find more recipes to use barley in! Not only is it a good source of fiber, but it will add a wonderful taste and texture to your soups.

I modified the original recipe only slightly by adding minced garlic cloves, 2 extra carrots, and 2-3 tablespoons of harvest coarse ground mustard to give it a little zip! Serve with garlic bread, a small side salad, and you have yourself a light yet fulfilling little supper.

Mushroom Barley Soup
serves 4

Ingredients

1/3 cup pearl barley
6 3/4 cups chicken or vegetable stock
1 bay leaf
1 tablespoon butter
12 oz mushrooms, thinly sliced
1 tsp olive oil
1 onion, finely chopped
2 carrots, thinly sliced
1 tablespoon chopped fresh tarragon, plus extra for garnish
1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley, plus extra for garnish
salt & pepper

Directions

Rinse the pearl barley and drain. Bring 2 cups of the stock to a boil in a small saucepan. Add the bay leaf, stir in barley, reduced the heat, cover, and simmer for 40 minutes.

Melt butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Add mushrooms, season with salt and pepper. Cook for about 8 minutes until they are golden brown, stirring often. Remove the mushrooms from the heat.

Heat the oil in large saucepan over medium heat and add onion and carrots. Cover and cook for 3 minutes, stirring frequently, until the onion is softened. Add the remaining stock and bring to a boil. Stir in barley with its cooking liquid and add the mushrooms. Reduce the heat, cover, and simmer gently for about 20 minutes, or until the carrots are tender, stirring occasionally.

Stir in the tarragon and parsley. Taste and adjust the seasoning, if necessary. Ladle into bowls, garnish with fresh parsley and tarragon, and serve.

Entry filed under: mushroom, soup, vegetarian. Tags: , , , .

Hiatus all you knead is love

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


